How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident Injury in Knoxville?

Call 865-558-8030 Today!

Car accidents are a common occurrence in Tennessee. If you or a loved one has been injured in a Knoxville car accident, it is important to report the incident to local law enforcement as soon as possible. 

While you have 20 days to report a car accident resulting in personal injury, property damage, or death to local authorities, it is a good idea to report the accident immediately after it happens. Delaying the reporting of the accident could potentially impact your insurance claim and the investigation process. Reporting your accident to the proper authorities is necessary to help protect your legal rights and ensure that all relevant details are documented accurately.

The Law Offices of G. Turner Howard III can provide you with the legal help you need after a car accident. Contact us to schedule a free consultation with our local car accident attorney and get the compensation you deserve. 

When Should You Report a Car Accident to the Police in Knoxville?

Following a car accident in Knoxville, you must report the accident to the police as soon as possible or within 20 days of the accident. However, not all car crashes are deemed reportable crashes if they do not include the following:

  • Serious injuries: If you or anyone involved in the accident has sustained serious injuries, contact the police right away.
  • Fatalities: If the crash results in a fatality, you should contact law enforcement immediately to report the accident.
  • Damages and liability disputes: If there is significant property damage or liability disputes, reporting to the police can help secure an official record of the accident, which can be useful for your insurance claim and legal proceedings.
  • Drunk driving: If you suspect the other driver involved in the accident was under the influence of drugs or other illegal substances, call the police immediately. They conduct appropriate testing and take necessary actions.

The legal team at The Law Offices of G. Turner Howard III can help you report your accident and provide the support you need to obtain fair compensation for your injuries.

How Long Do You Have To Report a Car Accident To an Insurance Company?

In Knoxville, you are required to promptly report an auto vehicle accident to your insurance company. Although no specific time frame is defined in the state law, many insurance providers expect you to report an accident as soon as possible, usually in less than 48 hours.

Failing to inform your insurer within a reasonable time frame could result in unnecessary delays or even denial of your case. Note that insurance companies have different insurance policy rules and guidelines. It helps to check your specific policy for reporting requirements and deadlines.

Tennessee is a fault-based state, meaning the at-fault party is held liable for the injuries and damages resulting from the accident. In this system, the court and the insurance company determine who is responsible for the accident and allocate liability accordingly.

This means that if you have been injured, you must file a third-party claim with the other party’s insurance provider and demonstrate that the other driver was liable before payments are made. It is also good to report the accident to your insurer even if you do not expect any coverage.

If the other party’s insurance has expired or they were not covered, you might get coverage from your uninsured policy, so you must keep them updated.

Contact a Knoxville car accident attorney before engaging with insurance companies. Insurance providers are for-profit businesses whose ultimate goal is to minimize their payouts. An attorney can protect your rights and help you understand the terms and conditions of your coverage.

How Much Time Do You Have to File a Lawsuit After a Knoxville Car Accident?

According to Tennessee Code Chapter 28-3-104, Knoxville car accident victims have up to one year to file a personal injury lawsuit. If you or a loved one has been injured in a Knoxville car accident, you have one year from the date of the incident to bring a claim seeking compensation for your injuries and damages.

Anyone seeking to file an injury lawsuit in Knoxville should be aware of and abide by the statute of limitations, as failure to do so may result in your case being denied by the court. Consulting with an attorney can help provide you with specific guidance based on the details of your case.

It is important to consult with a car accident lawyer to understand the specific time limits that apply to your case because other elements can affect the time limit. Our Knoxville car accident lawyers can help you file your lawsuit fast and effectively.

Injured in a Knoxville Car Accident?

If you are injured in a Knoxville car accident, taking the necessary steps to protect your rights and pursue the compensation you deserve is important. In addition to seeking medical attention and collecting evidence, you should also hire an attorney to walk you through the legal process.

Your attorney will provide legal advice and guidance to ensure you understand your rights and legal options. The Law Offices of G. Turner Howard can help gather evidence, interview witnesses, review accident reports, and examine other relevant details to build a strong case.

Car accident attorneys are experienced in negotiating with insurance providers and their adjusters to secure a fair settlement. They can handle all communications on your behalf to protect your rights.

Call G3 Help Me Today for Help

Need help? Call The Law Offices of G. Turner Howard III at (865) 558-8030 for a free consultation and case evaluation. Our leading Knoxville Car Accident Attorney, G. Turner Howard III, will provide compassionate legal guidance to ensure you get the compensation you deserve.

Free Consultation

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.