How to File an Accident Report in Tennessee

Call 865-558-8030 Today!

Accidents happen when least expected, and you need to know what to do if you are a victim. If you have recently been in a car accident in Tennessee, you should immediately file a detailed accident report with your insurance company. 

Understanding who has to file the report, when it needs to be filed, what information should be included, and who needs the copies is important when seeking compensation after an accident. 

Filing an Accident Report in Tennessee

In Tennessee, you are required to file an accident report if you have been involved in a car crash and should include information pertaining to the crash, whether there was any bodily injury or death, or if the damage from the crash totals more than $50 in damages. 

You are required to submit an owner or driver report to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security (TDSHS). The accident report should also be sent to your insurer as part of the claims process. An accident report should provide detailed information about the accident and can be used by both parties as evidence in legal proceedings.

What to Do at the Car Accident Scene

  • Check-in with those involved: Ensure you, your passengers, and others involved in the accident receive medical attention if needed. If any injuries are present, call 911 or the local police department.
  • Get as much information as possible: Get contact information from everyone involved in the accident and document the license plate number of each vehicle along with the make, model, year, and color.
  • Document the scene of the accident: Take photos of any visible damage to your car and other vehicles involved in the incident. Accurately document all relevant details while filling out an official police report or making an oral statement to law enforcement officers at the scene.
  • File a report: File a report with the police department or highway patrol office nearest where the accident occurred within 30 days of when it occurred.

Why is a Car Accident Report Important?

Filing an accident report is one of the best ways to document evidence of the accident. Without an official record, it can be difficult for insurance companies to prove that an accident happened and who was at fault. The more details you include in the report, the more evidence you have to prove your case and receive compensation. 

In Tennessee, filing a car accident report is required by law if there has been any property damage, injury, or death due to the incident. Not filing an official report could result in further legal consequences should you decide to seek financial compensation or press charges against the at-fault party.

What Should Be Included in a Car Accident Report? 

A detailed car accident report should include the following information:

  • The date and location of the incident
  • The weather conditions at the time of the incident
  • Both drivers' information, including name, contact details, driver's license numbers, vehicle make and model, etc.
  • A detailed description of what happened during the accident 
  • Statements from any witnesses who were present at the time of the accident
  • A sketch showing how vehicles were positioned before, during, and after impact.
  • Details about vehicle damage.

Contact a Knoxville Car Accident Attorney Today for Help

If you have been in a car accident in Tennessee, you should seek the help of a car accident attorney as soon as possible. The Law Offices of G. Turner Howard III is here to help you file your accident report and seek compensation after a Knoxville car accident. Contact us to schedule a consultation with a Knoxville car accident lawyer today.

Free Consultation

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.